New Day….

Posted On June 17, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped 2 responses

Hello friends.  Sorry it’s been a while–I’ve been in complete summer mode which basically means doing a little house work, sleeping in, and going to eat lunch with my husband every day!  It’s a hard knock life, huh?

Here’s a little cartoon on insecurities–if my only insecurity was my height, I’d be a happy woman.  HA!

I mentioned this earlier in my blog, but in claiming God’s power over my life, I am writing about it again.  There is something powerful in claiming where we are.

This has been one of the most insecure years of my life.  I think it is because we are going through so many changes–good ones, but changes in our lives.  2 years ago Hunter and I got married–and let me just say that is an adjustment in itself.  Also 2 years ago we started going to Central Baptist Church–a church that I wholeheartedly love!  But again there was a fair amount of changes with moving to Central.  Also, I started teaching a new grade at a new school.  I felt like I was constantly having to prove myself to the staff at the school and a whole set of parents that knew nothing of me or my teaching. I had a parent tell me that I was the worst teacher that their child has ever had…it was a sad, sad day.  Fast forward nine months later and the parent L-O-V-E-S me to the point of maybe an obsession.  HA.

There have been other things in my life  that have caused insecurities but at the root of it I have to remember that being insecure is just as bad as someone that is over secure in who they are.  Both behaviors take away from God’s power in our lives.

All of that to say that things they are a changin’!  I am claiming good things for my life and I am desiring for insecurity to NO longer have a foot hold on my life.  Because there is power in admitting where you are, I doubt God and have insecurities in areas in my life probably 20 times a day.  A good friend told me that I needed to read through 1 John noting all the times confidence in Christ is listed–I’ll save this for another blog.

I found some verses that I would like to share with you about what God is doing in our lives.  I want to get such a hold on this insecurity because GOD is doing such amazing things in our lives that I don’t want to miss out on one tiny part of it.  I am not kidding.  Hunter and I are about to enter one of the most exciting times in our lives.  No we are not pregnant.  I know Mimi (Hunter’s grandmother) is thinking that.  (Hey Mimi, I promise you will not found out over the blog!  Love ya!)

Ok, on the exciting verses!  These verses claim that there is something new inside of me and it was put there so that I could praise God.

The verses are from Isaiah 43:19-21.  God says:

I’m about to do something brand-new.
It’s bursting out! Don’t you see it?
There it is! I’m making a road through the desert,
rivers in the badlands.
Wild animals will say ‘Thank you!’
Because I provided water in the desert,
rivers through the sun-baked earth,
Drinking water for the people I chose,
the people I made especially for myself,
a people custom-made to praise me.

Don’t you just love when God does something brand new in your life?  There is nothing that makes me more excited than that!

What is the brand new thing that is happening in you?

2 Responses to “New Day….”

  1. Sarah

    Thanks for posting this! Love how you are so real and honest in your blog posts! =) Praying for you … and can’t wait to hear about all the exciting stuff God is doing in y’alls lives! Isn’t it amazing to see God working?

    Jeff and I are about to jump in and get involved in our new church. God has blessed us SO much with this new church, and I can not wait to start serving and seeing God work in a totally new way!

  2. debbiemwest

    Sarah, thanks for the message. I am just to the point where I want to confess it because I know that it is sin, and rid it from my life. I know it holds me back from a better relationship with Him, and the people He has put in my life.

    It’s funny how I have been in church for so long that it was comfortable to me. I knew what to expect. I think in someways I even expected God to do or NOT to do things within the church. God has made church so alive to me, and that is the scary part because there are so many new relationships all around me. I know it’s weird that relationships are the scary part, but I know you will understand that. Just going from where I knew everybody to cultivating relationships and making friendships with people. It is an exciting time too because there was a time in my life that the church did NOT feel alive to me. It’s exciting to be in a church that is making gains for the Kingdom of Christ and being a part of that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

