Balance

Posted On November 30, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped one response

I’ve always, always been a fan of David in the Bible.  He’s from the old testament and his life so matches up with my own life.  He had such a desire to live a God filled life.  From a young age, he was chosen to do mighty things–both real physical things as well as mighty spiritual things.  You know the story where David killed a giant, but as he grew older David struggled to keep a balance in his life.

Seriously does this sound familiar to you?

It’s my life.  As a teacher, I know that I have the capability to do mighty things physically  for children everyday.  I can change reading levels, increase math scores, create writers that will make us all laugh some day, put fun in the life of a child who thought school was “not fun”.  But I get so stressed so easily with RTI, and AIP, and IEP, and DRA, and TLI, and ESL, and IDEA, and 504, and of course the BIG BM–Benchmark.  It is easy to get stressed out by all of those things, but when I do–it’s my kids that suffer because they do not get my full attention and focus.

I have gone through so many things in my life that I know God plans to use for His Kingdom.  But so many times my spiritual life is hampered by my lack of faith in Him.  In turn I know there are girls and women that I could be helping or edifying in some way but I can’t help them because my own balance is off.

Like I said, David didn’t always have good balance in his life, but in Psalm 16 David is in a really good place and I just love it.  In these verses he just knows how good God is.  When my life is off balance, I desire this kind of relationship.    Oh my, I love it when my heart is this way.  Here are some snip-its from Psalm 16.

I say to God, “Be my Lord!”
Without you, nothing makes sense. 

Day and night I’ll stick with God;
I’ve got a good thing going and I’m not letting go.

I’m happy from the inside out,
and from the outside in, I’m firmly formed.

Now you’ve got my feet on the life path,
all radiant from the shining of your face.
Ever since you took my hand,
I’m on the right way.

It is so weird because there are days where I am happy from the inside out.  I am sure we all have these days where everything is right in the world.  But, do you ever have days when balance and happiness is that last thing you possess?  I have lots of great days, but there are days–when I am depressed, when I am stressed out, when I am not happy about the person God made me to be, not happy with Hunter, or my friends, or my family, or my job–just basically a grumpy person.  Honestly on days when I am feeling that way David’s song about how he’s happy from the inside out just seems like the biggest crock to me.

I have to constantly be reminded of how I need balance in my life–for my own personal good–and because I know that I affect the lives of other people.  In those moments where I want what David had in Psalm 16, but I am SO far away from it–I read this verse.

It’s from 1 John 3:1.  What marvelous love the Father has extended to us! Just look at it—we’re called children of God! That’s who we really are. With God in me the world might not even recognize me, because it has no idea who He is or what He’s up to.

What do you do when you know what you want, but you seem so far away from it?

One Response to “Balance”

  1. Jennifer

    That reminds of the song I sang when I was little…”I’m in-right, out-right, up-right, down-right, happy all the time…..since Jesus Christ came in, and washed away my sin, I’m in-right, out-right, up-right, down-right, happy all the time. Now if i could just remember that on the off-balance days!!

Leave a Reply

